My TEFL bucket list…………

 

20200514_103515

Do you remember the movie “The Bucket List” with Morgan Freeman and Jack Nicholson? Well for years I have been hearing about this show but never got the chance to watch it. I finally did a few nights ago. Many would think it was a sad story but to me, it was a beautiful storyline. It inspired me to re-evaluate my bucket list. First of all what exactly is a bucket list?

20200514_103558
Bucket list: Taught English in a city.

According to Oxford “ A bucket list is experiences or achievements that a person hopes to have or accomplish during their lifetime”. I believe you do not have to live life according to a list you should live it freely and naturally. Life is always changing as we can see so your list probably would change as well. I know mine has. I put some thought into this and who knows it can change as life goes on. I can either add things or take away things.

Ever since I did TEFL, my definition of accomplishments and life has changed significantly. It is all about my experiences. I made a promise to myself that everything I do going forth in life has to be with meaning, compassion, and love. Do you know as I took this approach the things on my bucket list came naturally? Yes I am going a little deep here hahaha but that is the person I am. Anyway to all the TEFL teachers worldwide I have come up with a TEFL bucket list. Some of the things I have already done.

  1. Teach English in all different parts of Costa Rica. In the city, in poor communities, and rural communities.
  2. Laugh till I cry with my students.
  3. Do a volunteer program in Costa Rica.
  4. Figure out why English has 13 tenses. Yes I am serious:)
  5. Teach English in a non-popular Asian Country.
  6. Volunteer in India in a rural community for 3 to 6 months.
  7. Become a TEFL Trainer.
  8. Become one of the “realest” TEFL Bloggers to inspire people to do something different and see the world differently.
  9. Inspire TEFL teachers to be passionate and authentic people ready to teach in any environment
  10. Create something personal designed to help and motivate TEFL teachers WORLDWIDE.
  11. Give free English classes to a student for a year.
  12. Get a random stranger in the street to say ” smile ” in English and get it captured 🙂

 

20200514_103541
Bucket list: Taught English to kids

I challenge you as teachers to come up with your lists. Remember you will always keep adding and taking away. That is okay. I will leave you with this quote from Ryan Tedder. “When life allows you the opportunity to check off a thing on your list, you have to check them”. Live your life fearlessly. If TEFL is on your bucket list. Feel free to contact me for more information. 🙂

20200514_103529
Bucket list. Volunteered with the Costa Rican Goverment to teach these youth English from different socioeconomic backgrounds.

PS I  want to thank feedspot for featuring me in Top 50 TEFL Blogs list. 

3 thoughts on “My TEFL bucket list…………

  1. I never thought of doing a bucket list. I know there are some things I want to complete before I pass to another dimension.
    Nickola you have encouraged me to do a bucket list. I will share the information when I have finished .!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A TEFL bucket list is a great idea! I hadn’t thought of that either. I assume you are making this part of your Costa Rica TEFL trainees TO DO list! Can’t wait to see what they come up with. Great idea Nickola!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment